The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Vertigo of the Day #1376

leave a comment »

I really don’t find heights the least bit frightening, especially when firmly anchored by a friend, but my camera apparently was terrified when it looked down from the summit of the first wall I climbed today. This acrophobic image must suffice, though, as I couldn’t take photos while belaying and Anna took care of the camera after this ascent.

It’s been such a long time since I went climbing, and it felt fantastic to finally return to it. Every wall feels like a puzzle, taking careful steps in the right order and with the right balance, learning to apply force at just the right angle to generate the friction needed to push myself just a little higher.

My third climb was up a wall tilted against me, so nothing but my grip kept me from slipping away. Within a few minutes the puppet strings in my wrists were worn away, and I repeatedly lost my hold and swung away from the wall, flailing for a few moments in the empty air. I abandoned my pride and switched to an easier path to the top, and when I reached the ground again my hands were comatose in a way I hadn’t felt in years. It’s a satisfying feeling – a vibrant reminder that I live in a tangible body.

These wrists may burn tomorrow, but it was worth it. Hopefully I can find someone to climb with back in Berkeley.

come down now, they’ll say
Written by Umbrella Man

June 29, 2012 at 2:20 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 165 other followers

