The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Goodbye of the Day #641

leave a comment »

At the time of this writing, Ben is on a bus on his way to Texas, and there he will stay for an indefinite amount of time – at least until the end of the summer, and by then I will be back in Santa Cruz. I saw him only briefly today, and he was busy packing. He, Elizabeth and Thomas went out for sushi, and I expected to rendezvous him for a proper goodbye before he left, but at the last hour he must have been in a great rush, and I did not see him again.

Ben and I have been friends since first grade, and this will be the first summer since then that we do not spend together. It’s a strange, alien prospect – no Kirby or Mega Man, no birthday trips to the Boardwalk or Water World (though, happily, we made one last trip yesterday), no staying up until four in the morning playing Smash Brothers and Betrayal. I have other friends here, and I’ll find things to do with my time, but I’ll miss him anyway.

I hope he enjoys himself in Texas – he is sort of being sent there against his will. He’ll make the most of it, and meet a great many new people when he arrives. He seems to be rather good at that.

Life goes on, and we are al drifting through the world like dust motes in a glass of water. However the currents flow I’ll make sure to see my friend again.

last dinosaur
Written by Umbrella Man

June 25, 2010 at 1:50 am

Leave a Reply

