The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Cord of the Day #1670

leave a comment »

Cord of the Day #1670

The way water refracts sunlight makes everything within look a little more refreshing, so fibers twisted into strands twisted into cables twisted into a single cable start to look like a cool mint candy cane. The bubbles flock to it, drawn by the flavor, and the rope is so soft to the touch that they have no desire to leave.

I sat in the sun, idly thoughtful, dancing my fingers in the water to make rainbow shadows at the bottom of the pool while I waited for a ladybug I had rescued to recover and fly away. Eventually I tugged on this cable out of the water, hoping it would capture more air as it resubmerged, but it came down clean; I’d only killed its existing bubble citizens.

But for a bubble that only means rejoining the atmosphere, becoming a part of the world again. I suppose perhaps it’s not too different fro you and me, as well.

the rescue
Written by Umbrella Man

April 19, 2013 at 1:53 am

Posted in small things, water

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

