The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Whirl of the Day #1672

with one comment

Whirl of the Day #1672

Playgrounds are a person’s first experience with some of the quirks in physics – it’s so much fun to fiddle with angular momentum and feel the results with your entire body. The entire ring here rotates as you walk along it, and any movements Mitch or Leyla make will affect the other. Mitch and I had a duel of sorts, moving our weight to throw off the other’s balance; I sent Mitch stumbling off after nearly falling myself.

In a separate study in kinetics and aerodynamics, the three of us tossed around a Frisbee in classic springtime fashion. As I threw the disc, I found that I had very little conscious awareness of my technique, and I couldn’t explain how I went about aiming each throw. It’s something you just gradually assimilate, a skill you learn with your body, or some automated section of your mind.

Today was the first time I’ve done any real running since I injured my ankle in October. It’s nice to be coming home with grass stains on my knees again.

spike in a rail
Written by Umbrella Man

April 21, 2013 at 3:32 am

Posted in friends, people

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. where is this?

    Martha Reilly

    April 21, 2013 at 11:03 am


Leave a Reply

