The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Impression of the Day #1684

leave a comment »

Impression of the Day #1684

Two more memories in the archive, collected at the last moment before I headed home. Today was a good day for these writers, it seems.

I’ve accumulated quite a few memories from fellow climbers, now. Almost everyone I’ve puzzled with over a tough route is in here, captured in miniature. People’s reactions vary quite a bit – some are confused, some are uninterested but obliging, some are enthusiastic and give suggestions about what to do with the book when it’s full. Only one or two people have ever said no.

The hope, here, is that I can gain some modicum of understanding about all these people I meet for just a few moments.

When you first meet someone, you have very little information about them – just their countenance, their voice and a few words about whatever small thing you happened to talk about. That becomes your first model of the person, a little homunculus that wanders around in your mind, doing and saying the things you imagine they might say and do. The more time you spend with them, the more refined that model becomes, until you can finish the person’s sentences and predict their reaction to a story you plan to tell them.

I hold an image of you in my mind based on our time together, and I’d like it very much if that image were true.

It’s very easy to project onto these little models, though – to let bits of your desires or prejudices crystallize over the idea of the person. Be careful not to let these projections keep you from seeing people as they really are.

So while these little bits of memories are interesting and beautiful, they are only a tiny glimpse into the life of each person I meet, and a starting point for conversation the next time I see them. Everyone in this book would surprise me if I were to get to know them better – which is exactly how I like it.

fifty fps forest
Written by Umbrella Man

May 3, 2013 at 2:21 am

Posted in scrawls

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

