The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Commitment of the Day #1696

leave a comment »

Commitment of the Day #1696

I didn’t intend for this much motion blur, but perhaps it emphasizes the uncertainty of the leap. Let’s go with that.

The main attraction in this little route is a leap from one wall to another, launching from a rather precarious position to a handhold some five feet away. I made a few attempts at it myself, coming a little closer to a solid landing each time, but my last failure was a rather spectacular one. When my hands met the hold, my legs kept swinging parallel to the wall; the momentum loosed my grip and I tumbled, twisted, and face-planted heartily on the mat below.

I haven’t had such an emphatic fall in a long time. I imagined that I looked ridiculous doing it, and, rolling on the ground, I laughed as best as I could with the wind knocked out of me.

This sort of route is a psychological challenge almost as much as it is a physical one. To make the leap you need to commit to it; any jump made with caution or restraint won’t bring you far enough, and you might as well not jump at all. It’s very easy to let doubt slow you at the last moment. A similar feeling paralyzed me when I tried to psych myself into flipping on a trampoline two years ago; after that, this fall tonight felt like redemption.

As Mr. Samuel Beckett said: Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.

start as you mean to go on
Written by Umbrella Man

May 15, 2013 at 2:25 am

Posted in Miscellany

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

