The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Guard of the Day #1698

with one comment

Guard of the Day #1698

I want to capture the haunted appearance that mundane things hold when you pass them at night, with thick shadows staining their skin like tar, with dim saline amber light turning everything into a flawed memory of itself, with the cold and quiet making strangers feel sinister and sacred. My words are clumsy and my lens is bleary, though, so all I can do is hope that you have the notion in you already, and that I might remind you of it.

These barriers here looked like rooks guarding a border, tireless and immovable. They do a fine job of holding back cars, which plod forward with a rooklike directness, but I can weave through carefully and delicately like a bishop, and they never know I’ve been through. I pass unseen sevrral times a week, but respect their diligence all the same.

the moon is down
Written by Umbrella Man

May 17, 2013 at 2:42 am

Posted in places

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cool picture! 🙂

    eu

    May 17, 2013 at 5:36 am


Leave a Reply

