The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Haul of the Day #1699

leave a comment »

Haul of the Day #1699

It will be many years before I learn to photosynthesize, so I still need to maintain myself the traditional way. I’ll be made of this food soon, as I’m made of everything else I’ve eaten. If my identity is defined by the materials the compose my body, then you can trace me backwards through time in a descending tree of foodstuffs cast across the planet. I can be dismantled into bread bars and peanut butter, slivers of pineapple, endless tangles of spaghetti; the ions forming the action potentials in my brain can be collected and sorted, potassium packed into bananas, sodium stirred into canned lentil soup, calcium set into breakfast cereals.

Were I to photosynthesize, I would be built from the air itself, from your breath and the scattered remains of Edgar Allan Poe’s last gasp. I still am, in fact, though filtered first by countless plants.

I don’t much like cooking for just myself, so I easily settle for whatever’s simple and quick, but even the plainest foods are a curiosity when you attend to the fact that you’re eating a future piece of yourself.

out of egypt, into the great laugh of mankind, and I shake the dirt from my sandals as I run
Written by Umbrella Man

May 18, 2013 at 3:51 am

Posted in food

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

