The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Acquaintance of the Day #1735

leave a comment »

Acquaintance of the Day #1735

I went to the creek today hoping to get a new perspective on the water skaters – a view from the creek bed, trees above warped by the skaters’ footprints. Sloshing around in the stream, raising clouds of dust like a bumbling giant, I watched the insects move so much more elegantly than I, but never managed the shot I wanted. Another day, perhaps, in a deeper stream.

By the creek I also met this dashing fellow, who kept a cautious distance but never fled the scene. I felt a little honored, almost, that he was content to go about his business, digging for victuals and sinking his claws into redwood bark while I kept him company.

To put it simply, it’s nice to coexist with other species. Sometimes I’d rather just be a ghost, a detached observer, but sharing space like this makes being human better.

I keep a service bell
Written by Umbrella Man

June 23, 2013 at 3:34 am

Posted in animals

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

