The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Campanile of the Day #1765

leave a comment »

Campanile of the Day #1765

Today threatened to be fiercely uneventful, so I went walking again to make the afternoon worthwhile. I wandered through the UC campus, stopped to watch people go about their day, and read a chapter under redwoods bearing nests of yarn. Heading toward the center of the campus, I found a terribly curious tree, and spend ten or fifteen minutes trying to photograph it. The tree looked, on the whole, like a failed attempt to alloy several trees of different species. The base was molten slag, broad and shapeless, a sagging facade hiding a hollow space dripping with sap. Its living trunks and branches didn’t match at all; one sturdy trunk stretched from the base as if attempting to escape the mess, and slender, smooth branches curled around it from a different direction, grasping without touching like brittle fingers or spider legs. There was no way to capture the thing in one shot; the best I could do would be to present several images with details of the thing, like the seven blind mice who explored an elephant and each thought it was something different.

I continued on to Sather Tower as its bells sang the six o’clock medley. A nearby magnolia tree called me to climb its branches, and so here is the view of the Campanile from within. Even from the top I couldn’t see the bells; I’d have liked a transplanted Tree 9 to give me a richer view. Every sort of tree is a different experience to climb, though, and I loved clambering up the curving branches, stepping carefully on knots, finding the broad flowers and their fuzzy fruit waiting at the top.

From my view in the magnolia tree I saw several people passing by below, but none of them saw me. Very few people ever think to look up, it seems.

sugar done melt the day
Written by Umbrella Man

July 23, 2013 at 3:02 am

Posted in places, plants, trees

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

