The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Photo of the Day #1786

leave a comment »

Photo of the Day #1786

I clambered up the wall alongside Esther, reaching the top in time to get this shot; when she saw me looming at the edge, she knew a photo was soon to follow. The route she was climbing was not an easy one, but she held fast despite the distraction.

Esther’s moving to San Diego in a few days, but we still had time for another session at Bridges, and one more tomorrow. I’m glad I’ve had the chance to meet her here; we’d met a few years ago but never really spoken, and beside the plastic cliffs I was able to get to know her a little.

Taking so many photos at the climbing gym has a tendency to feel monotonous, but it’s been such a big part of my life this year, and I’ve gotten to know so many people there. In this project I need to find a balance between finding creative photographs and documenting my life, but the latter is much more important – especially when it comes to the people I meet.

I wanna see you be brave
Written by Umbrella Man

August 13, 2013 at 3:09 am

Posted in friends, people

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

