The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Alien of the Day #1790

leave a comment »

Alien of the Day #1790

I’ve spent the last three days mostly on my own, and each day a different plant has caught my eye with its peculiarities. Sadly, I couldn’t capture a clear shot of this tentacled creature – wind and shadow and my aging camera made it rather difficult – but this is all I have to offer tonight.

When I laid eyes on these seeds today, I read them as hanging naval mines almost before recognizing them as seeds. They looked so absurd there, with an appearance that was somehow both festive and threatening, curly and green and ready to explode.

I think Jordan said once that a tree is a slow explosion of a seed. It would be lovely to watch the fireworks erupting from a single tree if it were allowed to grow a forest.

you rearrange me
Written by Umbrella Man

August 17, 2013 at 2:34 am

Posted in plants

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

