The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Spite of the Day #1838

with one comment

Spite of the Day #1838

Rummaging through old things in preparation for the move, I found this mysterious note hidden among my molecules. I’ve no recollection of it, no idea who the writer was, no knowledge of Shelby or her devastating letters. What could possibly have been written in them?

My thoughts keep trying to form themselves into a memory, but I don’t feel like this is something I’ve forgotten. A fraction of someone else’s life has slipped into my own, somehow escaping my attention until this point.

I went through several of my own things as well, stopping to read through them as I always do. In a box of books, birthday cards, feathers and empty game cases, I found “yearbooks” from my freshman and senior years of high school – blank books I’d asked people to sign. In the senior book my teachers wrote really sweet things, and several people said that they liked my writing and wished I spoke more often. Emily wished me good luck in life, as if we’d never see each other again. Ben wrote, simply, “Good-bye forever”, which was perfect because we knew there was no such thing.

I found my first grade journal, as well, a notebook in which our teacher had us write whatever we liked. I sometimes have this ship-of-Theseus idea that I’m not at all the person I was at six years old, but I think I can see bits of who I am now in those pages, and it adds a sort of continuity to my sense of self. I’m lucky to have that old book, and if I should have kids one day I want to encourage them to do the same – it just becomes more valuable the older you get.

(This is a good time to wave to myself eighteen years in the future)

Hello! Hello!

so far away
Written by Umbrella Man

October 4, 2013 at 12:50 am

Posted in found things, scrawls

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 🙂

    Martha Reilly

    October 7, 2013 at 4:18 pm


Leave a Reply

