The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Sandwich of the Day #1852

leave a comment »

Sandwich of the Day #1852

Butter and heat work like ink on bread’s canvas, and they fill it with such lovely shades by the time a grilled sandwich is ready to eat. You could say toast is bread transfigured, ascended to a higher form, and imagine all the raw slices, half-crystallized from the refrigerator, standing in awe at their toasted friend’s color, crunch and flavor.

When I was little I could hardly stand this sort of whole-wheat bread, rough and gritty from all the seeds nestled in its fabric. I rather like it now – complex textures make it more interesting. More than that, though, I’ve become more comfortable with eating foods that I don’t like; if I know it’s good for me, I can often look past the whole physical experience and get the job done. I wonder if that’s one of the canonical tenets of reaching adulthood.

modern guilt won’t get me
Written by Umbrella Man

October 18, 2013 at 2:00 am

Posted in food

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

