The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Flower of the Day #1857

with one comment

Flower of the Day #1857

The Graduate Record Examination called me to the city today. Concerned about making my appointment, I arrived two hours early, and because I was asked to come unarmed, I left my camera at home, carrying only my phone’s tiny lens. With so much time and no book on hand, I decided to explore the neighborhood around the Embarcadero.

It’s a shame that I don’t know San Francisco better, but I was surprised to see that there were barely any shops in the area – nothing but towering office buildings, and a Starbucks on every block to fuel the office workers. It’s clearly a specialized district, and makes the whole city seem like a living creature with distinct organs, each carrying out important metro-metabolic processes.

But the colossal architecture, and the sheer scale of the landscape, are what really amaze me whenever I go to the city. When I see all these massive geometric structures, endless repeating windows and tiers of concrete, my mind wants to interpret it as a fictional setting – sculptures of the Great Ancients or the Gods Themselves or a civilization advanced far beyond our intelligence. It takes a little effort to realize that these buildings were made by my own contemporaries – that they are a little outdated, even – and then I get to marvel at how capable humans are.

Today was particularly beautiful, as a high fog was curling around every skyscraper, glowing a faint gold in the sun. If things were just a little different, the place would look like an idyllic utopia; it gives a little hope, perhaps, for what the future might be.

do your dance
Written by Umbrella Man

October 23, 2013 at 1:39 am

Posted in geometries, places

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love this photo!

    LFFL

    October 28, 2013 at 2:48 am


Leave a Reply

