The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Gears of the Day #1862

leave a comment »

Gears of the Day #1862

Pearce bought a little basket of golden raspberries today. With some dismay he found that they were on the verge of rot, so he invited me to quickly finish them off while they were still delicious. I ate a few and was distracted by their glow in the light of the window. As Pearce continued to gobble down the berries, I sought to capture the luminance of the one in my hand, and the stood in small wonder at the tiny seeds visible in every translucent segment, each waiting silently to hatch. Against the lamp, the interior of the berry looked like a tunnel of red-hot gears stretching off into a molten haze.

Pearce finished off most of the berries (and rightfully so, as they were his), but I’m reminded of how much a of a visual experience eating can be for me, and how I can easily get lost in details when it would be quite alright to just go ahead and enjoy the taste.

But I think it’s okay for me to work like this, tumbling into metaphors and tiny geometries at the slightest provocation. It’s just important to stop and let the gears cool down occasionally.

a styrofoam deep sea
Written by Umbrella Man

October 28, 2013 at 2:25 am

Posted in food, small things

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

