The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Library of the Day #1870

with one comment

Library of the Day #1870

I’ve finally moved in all my books, so now the place can really feel like a home. For almost a year now I’ve been reading almost exclusively from an ebook reader, but I’d forgotten all the unread books waiting here for me. Picking up each one and searching for its spot on the shelf felt much like handling intricate desserts, and I”m terribly excited to chew through each delectable story in the coming weeks.

Most of these I’ve already read, of course, and I keep them as a lending library so I can show friends the little worlds most important to me. As I shelved each book, I could feel little fragments of the stories I’d read – the floating islands of Perelandra, the view of the bay in Earth Abides, the gratuitous laser beams and the beautiful cosmic rivers of Hyperion, the ravens of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell, the old biplane in Ubik, the well in The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, the quiet waters of Earthsea…

We’re made of the stories we love, and I keep so much of my mind sitting on these shelves.

high fives
Written by Umbrella Man

November 5, 2013 at 1:12 am

Posted in books and movies

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m waiting for your book to come out

    Martha Reilly

    November 5, 2013 at 9:16 am


Leave a Reply

