The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Farewell of the Day #1887

leave a comment »

Farewell of the Day #1887

Julie is leaving the bay tomorrow, headed off to adventure in Uganda in a month or two. She was hoping for a farewell bonfire tonight, but the wind is far too ferocious; if we tried to huddle outside we’d likely be crushed by a falling tree. But the Albatross is always there, cozy with drinks and popcorn and darts, and at the last moment we decided to hide in its wings instead. This is the second time the Albatross has hosted a goodbye for me – I wonder how many it’s seen.

I only know Julie from climbing, but I”ll miss her. Julie’s departure is even harder for her friend Adrienne, and from a short sentimental distance I can see that both of their lives are going to be very different after tonight.

Julie will do brilliant things, to be certain. I wonder if I’ll see her again.

I hear the wind blow
Written by Umbrella Man

November 22, 2013 at 1:12 am

Posted in friends, people

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

