The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Memorial of the Day #1893

leave a comment »

Memorial of the Day #1893

My step-grandfather Joe passed away last Saturday. I never knew him well, but I wanted to give what support I could to the rest of his family, so I joined in the memorial service this morning.

I don’t handle death particularly well, so I was expecting a very somber atmosphere among the others, but I think they’d known of his diminishing health for some time and had prepared themselves for this. They greeted me and each other with smiles and talked about little things, and seemed happy to see each other.

Joe helped to raised ten children, and saw them raise fourteen grandchildren; they’re a tremendous family, always tied together by Joe and his wife Betsy, who has always had an unbreakable sweetness about her. It’s strange to be on the periphery of such a connected family – I wish I could do more to help them all with this.

I don’t feel qualified to write about Joe’s life, but he seemed like a good man, and the work he put into his life lead to a lot of other good lives.

you saw me standing there
Written by Umbrella Man

November 28, 2013 at 1:58 am

Posted in family

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

