The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Farewell of the Day #1912

leave a comment »

Farewell of the Day #1912

This is the first time Yuen has appeared in a photo, but I’ve known her for almost a year now, and this may be the last time I see her – at least for a few years. Next semester she’ll begin her research on artificial intelligence in Germany, building electronic minds instead of teasing apart organic ones. It’s sure to be an adventure; I hope she finds herself inspired out there.

I only visited for a very brief farewell, snacking on some mashed potatoes and sautéed cabbage before heading out, but I really wanted to get at least one photo of her before she left. It’s a little silly, I suppose, but these photos feel to me like an immutable record of my life, and Yuen is someone I want to remember.

downstream
Written by Umbrella Man

December 17, 2013 at 1:48 am

Posted in colleagues, friends, people

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

