The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Squid of the Day #1931

leave a comment »

Squid of the Day #1931

Pearce and I are tinkering with an engine we might use to build a game – a little world I want you to be able to explore, probably a little too ambitious for a first attempt. To learn how to built the world, I learned to teach this squid (formerly a space invader) to swim.

When I made a little platformer for my java class a couple years ago, I had to describe the basic physics from scratch, explaining to my computer how velocity and inertia should work. This engine knows all of those concepts already, so my task tonight was to figure out what it knew and how I could draw those notions out to let my squid move willfully.

It’s easy to get lost in little details. I need to keep the right perspective if I want this to happen.

alone in kyoto
Written by Umbrella Man

January 5, 2014 at 12:28 am

Posted in pixels

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

