The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Golem of the Day #1996

leave a comment »

Golem of the Day #1996

I woke after only a few hours of sleep, ready to leave for home, but I was the first to head upstairs. Out the window the lake was obscured by fog, though I’d only seen it clear before, and when I stepped forward to see that infinity I was astonished to find that it was snowing. The forecast had predicted rain – a gloomy end to the weekend – but here a gently flurry was settling onto the beach and dock, coating the trees, disappearing into the waves. I’d never seen it snow like that before, and I was so excited to capture the sight that I actually fell over racing back to the window with my camera.

The shots I took then didn’t come out well – more a spectacle to experience than something to frame, anyway – but I quickly dressed and ran outside to feel the newly fallen snow. I wish I’d had more time with it, but we had make the cabin shipshape before l leaving.

In our last few minutes there, after the snowfall had stopped, I rolled together a few snowballs and left this tiny snowman to watch the cabin in our absence. I wonder if it survived the afternoon light.

I’d like to live in the snow for at least a winter some time, I think. This morning’s brief flurry will have to suffice for now, but it was lovely, and I came home happy with the trip.

like a room without a roof
Written by Umbrella Man

March 11, 2014 at 1:33 am

Posted in crafted things

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

