The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Drive of the Day #2016

with 2 comments

Drive of the Day #2016

It’s been a few years now since I had my first practice driving lesson, but I’ve managed to make it this far without getting my license. Today I inched forward a little more, edging into traffic for the first time, so it seems that I’ll slowly but inevitably reach the goal of an actual license.

My dad’s new car is an automatic; I no longer have to fear stripping the gears, stalling the engine or killing the ignition. This clears the way for a few more anxieties of the road – keeping track of the mirrors and my surroundings, watching my speed, learning the feel of wheel and pedals until I can operate them as naturally as a Mario Kart.

I’ve been a passenger on the freeway so many times, but accelerating even to 40 miles per hour felt so much faster when I was pushing the gas, and for most of the ride I felt like nervousness had drained the color from my face. I can’t yet feel the size of the car as if it were my own body, and that uncertainty – not knowing just how close I am to a parked car or the edge of the lane – is going to be my biggest worry while I learn.

I often feel so uncertain when I’m learning a new skill, then become comfortable with it so gradually that I don’t even notice I’ve improved – and then it feels completely natural. Driving will likely be just the same, and eventually I’ll be able to slip into these three-thousand-pound machines as if they were second bodies.

the hours
Written by Umbrella Man

March 31, 2014 at 2:55 am

Posted in Miscellany

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 🙂

    Martha Reilly

    March 31, 2014 at 1:34 pm

  2. Practicearking with some people standing right beside the car to get used to where you edges are. And it is different in different cars.

    yetmorefosterkittens

    April 1, 2014 at 7:08 am


Leave a Reply

