The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Sentiment of the Day #2034

leave a comment »

Sentiment of the Day #2034

The thought that I really wanted to put here, at least in the shape I had in mind, has melted away, but I will try anyway.

Because every moment feels like such a permanent thing – and like something of very finite supply – I have been feeling more and more like I need to choose each action with great care. Progressing through life feels a little like trying to craft some delicate precision instrument – a musical one meant to produce a very specific chord, or a scientific one meant to learn something subtle about the universe.

I should realize that it’s impossible to fit your life precisely to any plan you have, but there are still certain things I’m certain I want. Perhaps if I’m careful I can balance them all just right.

It always feels like the saddest thing to think that some lovely thing will Never happen again – or that a small floating dream you had will Never happen at all. The future is an infinite tree of possibilities, you could say, and as you move forwards every possibility not taken is sheared away forever.

I’m speaking some melancholy nonsense here, I’m sorry. I’ve been making a list of what I want to do, and it seems to grow much faster than I can check it off.

But I’ll keep at it.

scientist studies
Written by Umbrella Man

April 18, 2014 at 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

