The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Twig of the Day #2070

leave a comment »

Twig of the Day #2070

Alina and I found this little twig-bug nestled in the corner by my doorknob today, waiting sedate for us to come in. I didn’t know they existed around here at all; this fellow’s motivations for sitting in plain site on my door left me a bit baffled. His wooden facade is well-designed, but when I looked very closely I could see his yellow eyes staring out – that inscrutable, reptilian stare.

We coaxed him into a clean tomato sauce jar and brought him inside for a bit, and Alina tossed about the idea of keeping him as a pet, but the idea of capturing a creature and confining it in small spaces is something I’d prefer to do only in video games. Eventually we let the little twig out into the blackberry bush, free to grow into a tree someday.

be a better friend
Written by Umbrella Man

May 23, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Posted in animals, insects

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

