The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Dinner of the Day #2080

leave a comment »

Dinner of the Day #2080

With yesterday’s festivities done, I wanted something quieter for my actual birthday. Laurel and I spent much of the day eating fruit and tasty bread, and in the evening went to Mom’s for dinner – beautiful soup and pesto pasta, with cupcakes my sister whipped up in a mere half hour. I live so close to both of my parents, but Laurel has never met my mom or sister before. I had the opportunity to introduce her to them and to Joe, and we had a lovely evening.

Joe and Laurel both asked if I felt different today, having turned 25, and of course I don’t. We change gradually, imperceptibly slowly; imagine if you lived year by year, accumulating experiences without learning from them, and on your birthday all your new knowledge was suddenly processed in one massive chunk – a sudden, jarring shift in character.

I do feel different from last year. I even wrote myself a tiny letter a year ago, certain then that I would feel better by now, and I do. I can’t imagine what things will be like a year from now, but I’ll get there before I notice it.

when I wake up
Written by Umbrella Man

June 2, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Posted in family, friends, people

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

