The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Siblings of the Day #2083

leave a comment »

Siblings of the Day #2083

I nearly passed these cats by on my way home, but perhaps something about their gaze as I approached made me stop. The instant I did, the cat on the right, so wide-eyed here, pattered towards me. The other cried out and chased its sibling, pinning it down and biting its neck, and the two remained motionless like that as long as I kept still.

It was a strange thing to see, and I’m not certain of their motivations – it seemed as if one sibling had taken on the duty of preventing the other from leaving home, or from talking to strangers. As soon as I stood up, the first cat – the curious one – ran off down the sidewalk, and the biter followed.

These feline social dynamics are beyond me. Perhaps someone else understands them better.

menu ska
Written by Umbrella Man

June 5, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Posted in animals, cats

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

