The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Tear of the Day #2095

with 2 comments

Tear of the Day #2095

For a short time, a few years ago, I had the habit of doing five-minute stream-of-consciousness writing sprints each day. The goal was to find interesting images that could be made into stories (the astrolisk was the most notable result), and writing in a dreamy, sleep-hungry state during class breaks worked quite well.

I haven’t been writing as much as I wanted lately, so I decided to pick up this practice again. Writing in a more lucid state of mind, though, often meant that less fantastical, more pensive ideas flowed from the pen, and I’ve found myself writing some things in this little notebook that I’ve wished I could write here.

I think I have, gradually, become more self-conscious about what I write on this blog, and I restrain myself with it when I really shouldn’t have – such as when I found out my grandpa had passed away last year. I’d like to be more open, leaving really sheer nonsense to the notebook, so perhaps I’ll start writing in a more thought-stream form here as well. Otherwise I find myself writing about the photo more than necessary; it’s good to let the image speak for itself.

Today one of the thoughts bouncing in my head is about how it is very difficult for one to really become an expert in something, and many people never do; but it is well within reach for you to become discerning about a few things you care about. I am not as strong a writer as I would like to be, but I think I can tell good writing when I see it; I have a lot of admiration for photographers who really excel in their craft; I can feel such a strong connection with some well-designed video games. Conversely, I have little appreciation for masterfully made food, and I am probably often lured by cliches in music.

Loving an artistic medium or a craft or any particular subject means that poorly-made items in that genre will be a bit painful to see, while people less familiar with the subject might not notice the flaws at all. This is balanced by a greater appreciation for good work, and so your emotional spectrum regarding the medium is stretched out in either direction. You may not be able to master many things – or, perhaps, even one – but it’s good to learn to properly appreciate a few different mediums.

Those are some notions for tonight. I’ll see if I can open my mind a little more in the future.

breath, train, electric wheeze
Written by Umbrella Man

June 18, 2014 at 1:25 am

Posted in ruminations, scrawls

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Becoming expert in something need not destroy pleasure in any but the best examples of the thing. Professional musicians who I know really seem to enjoy the efforts of those less accomplished, when they are playing with love of the medium. There is perhaps a greater appreciation not only of good work, but of good effort and new discoveries.

    yetmorefosterkittens

    June 18, 2014 at 6:51 am

    • It’s true. I think what I was referring to was more about small frustrations when I find flaws in professional published work, like reading a book with lazy writing, or seeing typography with bad kerning.

      Umbrella Man

      June 18, 2014 at 10:50 am


Leave a Reply

