The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Wall of the Day #2210

with one comment

Wall of the Day #2210

I haven’t had time to go climbing in two months, but Pearce sent me an invitation as I was riding home, and it was time to give it another go.

Friday night during the school year, the gym was full of college students, the air thick with heat and chalk dust and conversation – a proper welcome back to the plastic cliffs. I remembered my padlock combination, put on my worn-through climbing shoes, and went to make up for lost time.

I haven’t backslid as much as I’d feared; by the end of the night I’d managed to climb a V4 or two, as well as a good cave route. My hands quickly grew slow, my grip weak, my heart fast, but I felt good returning to it.

There’s still lots of job-search work left to do, but I may climb more this week. I can almost feel my calluses coming back – I’ll be a proper climber again soon.

your head against my chest
Written by Umbrella Man

October 11, 2014 at 1:13 am

Posted in friends, people

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice! 🙂

    eu

    October 11, 2014 at 9:14 am


Leave a Reply

