The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Storm of the Day #2272

leave a comment »

Storm of the Day #2272

We were promised a tremendous downpour today, wind and rain fierce enough to shut down the schools, to scare people from going in to work. Storm of the Decade, I read, and was hoping for a real show.

I woke to find it raining, and it did continue to rain throughout the day, but I was a little disappointed to get all the way to work without having to struggle against the mightiest forces of Nature with every step.

I want to feel like the only thing keeping me from being crushed by the weight of the sky is my umbrella’s thin membrane. I want to be able to lean into the wind, carve ribbons in it with my fists as I trudge forwards. I want rivers to follow me to work, and for the trees to applaud us the entire way.

The weather here is always so mild. What a tremendous anti-problem to have.

4×4=12
Written by Umbrella Man

December 12, 2014 at 12:03 am

Posted in places

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

