The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Flicker of the Day #2279

with one comment

Flicker of the Day #2279

I made several attempts to photograph the candles tonight, trying to coax my phone into finding the proper focus and exposure – a little difficult when I can’t do much more than point it in the right direction. I tapped the candle, and it made its clumsy autofocus maneuvers, eventually settling on an invisible something in the distance, beyond the wall; I tapped the flame and it sputtered again. Google took the liberty of collecting all of my attempts into a single sequence, which I think ultimately captures the moment better than anything could have made in a single shot. Candle flames need to flicker, and there’s at least a suggestion of that here.

It’s night three, and Laurel sang the old words as she lit the candles. When I did this with Mom and my sister, we didn’t know there was a melody to go with the tradition; it’s a much happier thing with music.

The Dactyls sing on these nights, too. I hope they’re doing well.

steam, trains, planes, the road, time
Written by Umbrella Man

December 18, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Posted in light, motion

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yes, thank you. As Scott Walker would say, “Molotov!”

    yetmorefosterkittens

    December 19, 2014 at 6:41 am


Leave a Reply

