The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Home of the Day #2356

leave a comment »

Home of the Day #2356

Laurel’s work folk are taking a work-retreat this week, moving their office to a beautiful beachside house to refresh themselves without letting go of their responsibilities. I was invited along, and so tonight, after about two years away, I find myself back in Santa Cruz. I stepped out of the car and could taste the sea, and finally realized how much I’d missed this place.

Today was busy, but we took a few minutes to walk down by the water, where we could watch the waves church and bounce and swirl clouds of sand between the breakers. To our left, on a boulder whose ankles were wrapped by the tide, was a barefoot wave-watcher, sitting content, as if he’d been there the entire time I’d been away.

I am not sure where life will go in the next few years, but I would be very happy to live here again.

the moon looms
Written by Umbrella Man

March 6, 2015 at 1:03 am

Posted in friends, people, places

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

