The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Pause of the Day #2360

leave a comment »

Pause of the Day #2360

This morning I felt that I was running at low capacity, my nose and throat so insistent on making their presence known. I asked my coworkers if I should just work from home, and was told to take the day off entirely – to rest and recover, because my well-being was more important than work. I am very fortunate, again, to be able to work with these people.

It took me a while to appreciate this. I don’t remember the last time I took a sick day, completely resigning myself from doing work; it may have been as long ago as high school. I get so concerned now with using my time efficiently, taking advantage of empty evenings to work on some project or other. I only really take the time to relax when I’m with Laurel, and even then I’m often haunted by the things I want to get done. This weekend in Santa Cruz, when Laurel and her coworkers were doing their endless startup work, I joined in by doing my own work on Jacob’s website, and ended up going to sleep later than everyone else. I enjoyed it, but by the end of the weekend I could feel that I had worn myself down.

So today I made a concerted effort not to do any work.

I made myself oatmeal for breakfast, and added raisins and boysenberry jam.
I read a comic book.
I took a nap, easing slowly into sleep as imagined dialogue washed over me.

I went for a little walk around the neighborhood, because I could not wholly accept the idea of staying in all day, and was surprised by how slowly my body wanted to move. It was good I’d stayed home; I really did need the rest.

I wanted to capture a little sunlight before it was gone, so I stepped outside with the macro lens to peer closely at little bits. When I squatted to take this photo, I could feel how tired my calf muscles were.

So I must remember to give myself time to rest, and to pay attention to when I need it. Do the same, please – take care of yourself.

don’t be scared
Written by Umbrella Man

March 9, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Posted in plants, small things

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

