The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Evening of the Day #2394

leave a comment »

Evening of the Day #2394

While cleaning my room a few weeks ago, I found some of Emily’s old things, some of which were rather important, buried away in the boxes in my closet. It’s more persistent than pine needles from Christmas – I’ll keep finding pieces from when Emily and I lived together forever.

So I visited Emily and Myles today to drop off her things. Their home is taking form now, with three bookshelves densely packed and all sorts of zoological curiosities framed on the walls. They introduced me to their cat Lucy, who has a renegade claw that has grown so long that it’s coiled back on itself into a massive wheel. I imagine it contains some hidden power source – a tightly wound spring, perhaps, that keeps Lucy ticking throughout the day.

Emily and I made quesadilla sandwiches while Myles caught up on some work. We managed to keep him sufficiently distracted throughout the evening, since he really oughtn’t spend all of Sunday typing away by himself.

I keep meeting up with friends, hoping to really catch up with them – to ask “how’s your life going?”, and really learn what it’s like to be them, to know if they’re happy and whether their dreams are unfolding properly, to hear what kinds of thoughts have been following them day to day. I had this in mind today with Esther, Laurel, Emily and Myles, and would have wanted to ask Jordan the same if she had collected her things instead of her dad.

But, of course, you can’t just toggle on a deeply personal conversation with everyone you meet. It’s well and good to just talk a little nonsense with friends, too.

I walked home sleepy, but I’d really like to see these two more.

dive
Written by Umbrella Man

April 13, 2015 at 12:15 am

Posted in animals, cats, friends, people

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

