The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Dentist of the Day #2397

with one comment

Dentist of the Day #2397

I haven’t had fillings put in for at least ten years, but when I was little my attempts at dental hygiene were futile at best. I almost always followed a routine checkup with another dreaded appointment where they’d put that awful drill to my teeth, leaving me numb and drooling an hour later.

Today wasn’t nearly as bad, and I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve grown up, because the technology is better, or because my dentists today were more skilled. It may be all three.

The two experts who hovered over my gaping jaw today went about the whole process very nicely, making what is unavoidably an unpleasant operation as bearable as possible. They talked to each other about Zumba and the music on the radio; I suspect it’s a suggested practice to make light conversation as they work, like performing a little skit to keep the patient’s mind on other things. I kept watching the chains of my doctor’s tortoiseshell glasses sway as she prepared one tool after another.

At the end of it all I had lost the ability to enunciate difficult words like blog, so I stumbled a bit when I tried to explain what the photo was for. This, too, is part of life as a dentist: the post-operation conversation, trying to decipher the crushed words limping from a patient’s numb lips.

it’s only been a week
Written by Umbrella Man

April 16, 2015 at 12:24 am

Posted in people, strangers

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How nice that she didn’t mind you taking a picture of her!It must have been the first time someone did that! 🙂

    eu

    April 16, 2015 at 5:34 am


Leave a Reply

