The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Pizza of the Day #2424

leave a comment »

Pizza of the Day #2424

I decided on impulse to get off the train a stop early on the way home, and again decided without any particular reason to take a different route on the walk from the station, reading The Light Fantastic all the while. Soon enough I found myself at Cheeseboard, where live jazz music poured out the windows and a line of pizza enthusiasts streamed out the door. I took my place in the line, happy that I could just grab an early lunch there on a whim, and continued to read about Rincewind’s misadventures while the line whittled down.

Cheeseboard is what people call a Berkeley Institution (though one of my coworkers calls it Communist pizza), and when I’m standing in line to discover the day’s flavor, listening to whatever soulful band was invited to play that day, I feel more like a part of Berkeley than just about any other time.

The music is fantastic, the food is delicious, and the people are lovely. It’s good to be here.

make your choice
Written by Umbrella Man

May 13, 2015 at 12:33 am

Posted in food

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

