The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Cog of the Day #2431

leave a comment »

Cog of the Day #2431

I went to an early lunch with Jeff and his work friend, whose name I didn’t entirely catch but would be an appropriate name for a dragon who commands the rain. The café where we met let me order online with an interactive sandwich constructor, complete with automatically updating nutrition facts; I dropped the mushrooms and added slices of green apple, which I probably wouldn’t have done if I’d had to make the order vocally.

At the café, sandwich in hand, I saw Cordelia at the other register, collecting a meal for her own coworkers. It’s been almost two years since I last talked to her, and having that time folder back into the present moment made for a peculiar mental twist. I wasn’t sure what to do, so I said hello; she was equally baffled, and rushed off to deliver the food after we both gestured in the direction of our workplaces.

I ate lunch with Jeff and the rain dragon and met her husband, whose name is Gavin. I only barely believed that was a name when Laurel called me it two years ago, and when I was introduced to a real, live Gavin time folded over on itself again – more gently, this time.

My camera sat next to me over lunch, but between eating and speaking there are few options to actually take a photo without shattering the moment, so it rested quietly the whole time, and I took only a few haphazard snapshots on the brisk walk back to work.

I finished my last book yesterday and hadn’t decided on another one yet, so on the ride home I just stood on the train, arms crossed, and wondered about the other riders. It’s very easy to see a stranger and imagine that you know what they’re like; the truth is always far too complicated to invent. A mother sat with her son on her lap, smiling and talking to him in a low voice while he called out in response. They looked so happy, and I wanted to send her a smile as I left the train, but decided it would be better not to pop their bubble by trying to make eye contact.

I walked home slowly and felt like a piece of the universe. When I passed this flower resting its head on a leaf it caught my attention; I walked past and then retraced my steps, which may have bewildered the man walking behind me.

Tonight Leo asked me to write some lyrics so he can write a song. I’m not sure if I have it in me, but the words will come out if they are there.

in the powers of the earth
Written by Umbrella Man

May 19, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Posted in flowers, plants, ruminations

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

