The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Lot of the Day #2483

leave a comment »

Lot of the Day #2483

Another of our coworkers is leaving the team for other adventures, and like last goodbye we came to this pub for one more party. It’s not the best venue for me – I’d prefer to go to the park, where it’s bright and quiet and we don’t have to shout over the din – but these are all good people to work with, and despite my cracking voice it was fun to come and talk with them this evening.

Four people added memories to my little book, and with that and a bit of conversation I’ve gained a little perspective on the people I see every day. Getting to know someone well enough to work with them is very easy, but it’s something else to really understand them – to see a coworker sitting next to you in the context of their own life. I’d like to get to know all of them – to be able know what they go home to, how they feel when they wake up in the morning, what they liked to read before life got too busy for them to pick up books for fun.

Little steps. I’ll become acquainted with these people over the next couple years, and then we’ll all part ways like tonight, setting out for our own new stories.

my lover won’t return
Written by Umbrella Man

July 10, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Posted in colleagues, people

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

