The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Jam of the Day #2486

leave a comment »

Jam of the Day #2486

I’ve heard Pearce working out some bass lines on his own recently, but tonight I finally got to hear all of the Sugar Pines play together, weaving together some gorgeous harmonies right here in our living room. I did mundane things on the computer and listened to their music; all of it sounded lovely to me, even when they agreed that some phrase or another was rusty.

I love how they deliberate on the particulars of lyrics, bending and twisting each line like strips of wire, trying to sculpt it into something that means precisely what they mean it to in an elegant way. Collective lyric writing is so interesting – I wonder how much of it is made that way, and how much is born from one person’s thoughts.

Music like this is all sorcery, its creation incomprehensible to me, but I’m glad to be here for it.

if I was a different man
Written by Umbrella Man

July 14, 2015 at 12:30 am

Posted in friends, music, people

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

