The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Foundry of the Day #2517

leave a comment »

Foundry of the Day #2517

At the Folsom Street Foundry, video game consoles fill every free corner, and projected images of old and new games glow on the higher walls. Laurel and Barbie dabbled in World of Warcraft, and I played a bit of Puzzle Fighter and Towerfall.

Video games or not, though, I can’t spend much time in a venue like this. My voice disappears in the din, and I find it hard to even say my name when strangers introduce themselves.

It bothers me that I can still have that much trouble speaking. It seemed for a while that I was getting much better at it, and something seems to have slipped back. The thing to do when something is hard, of course, is to go and do it anyway until you get better at it; but I still feel so disheartened at times like this – like I haven’t changed at all in the last ten years.

I’m fine now, but this is something I need to work on.

a new heart
Written by Umbrella Man

August 13, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Posted in crowds, friends, people

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

