The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Craft of the Day #2557

leave a comment »

Craft of the Day #2557

Anna is visiting California for another wedding. She’s getting a lot of them these days, it seems, but it does mean I get to see her again, so perhaps I should try and convince more of her high school friends to tie the knot.

Life is busy for everyone, so we had only a few hours free today, like last time.

There is another reason for this visit, though, which made it less bright than we would have liked.

We learned last week that Lauren is in the hospital, recovering from a serious medical condition. No one saw it coming, and she is too young to be so hurt. The doctors are giving her the care she needs and she should be fine, but of course we are all going to worry for her until we know that she’s healthy and happy again.

Today we made a care package to send to her: photos and mementos of the time we all spent in Santa Cruz; tasty goodies; collages made in part from the pieces of our old home. Laurel, who has never even had the chance to meet Lauren, spent the afternoon felting an amazing little unicorn for her, complete with rainbow main and tail. I’ll send out the package soon, and I hope it brings Lauren some cheer while she recovers.

===

Here, also, is the next yearly video, uploaded at the beginning of my eighth year of this project.

It’s been as distinct a chapter as any so far: the conclusion of App Academy, the beginning of my first full-time job and the start of a new career, moving into a new home with Laurel. I’m in a completely different place in life than I was a year ago, more grounded than I’ve ever been. It’s a good thing, but I feel like I’ve lost contact with a lot of friends in the past year – or at least I spend much less time with many of them than I used to.

Life is too busy and I miss everyone. Last year I think I figured out how to subsist; in this next year I want to connect with people again.

before the mystery ends
Written by Umbrella Man

September 23, 2015 at 1:18 am

Leave a Reply

