The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Team of the Day #2618

with one comment

Day_2618

For a month or so I’ve been using an app called Fabulous, which is designed to help you set some daily habits you’d like to keep and encourages you to stick to them. I used it to set up a morning routine for myself: set some goals, exercise and stretch, free-write, shower for a less than atrocious length of time. It’s a nice little app, so I’ve stuck with it.

Earlier this week I was surprised by an email from the CEO of the company making Fabulous, which turns out to be a team of about three people. They happened to be in San Francisco and wanted to talk with people who actually used what they’ve built, so they invited a few of their users to a café today. It seemed like a strange sort of message to get; most software we use just feels like it falls out of the sky, with no faces attached to it, so I wasn’t sure how to respond.

But I’ve liked using their app and it’s good to put myself out to do things that might make me uncomfortable, so I went out to the city to meet these strangers. I’m glad I did, because they seemed earnestly interested in making something useful and in learning what needs to be improved, and only one guest besides myself actually showed up. We talked about design and motivation and threw around some ideas, and everyone was keen on continuing the discussion at the end of it.

A strange experience, and I suppose a very San Francisco one; it felt very unlike myself to go out to meet strangers like that. It’ll be interesting to see what else they make – I wonder how many others will shape their mornings with it.

pipes and creaks
Written by Umbrella Man

November 23, 2015 at 12:30 am

Posted in people, strangers

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice!(the whole thing) 🙂

    Eu

    November 23, 2015 at 5:53 am


Leave a Reply

