The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Gathering of the Day #2622

leave a comment »

Day_2622

For the second year in a row, I’ve hosted Thanksgiving with my family. What that means, mind you, is that I surrendered my kitchen to Michaela and let her prepare a huge chunk of the meal, lending a hand to chop vegetables or fill a pot with water now and then. She made, I hear, I good turkey; I was sated with the baked veggies, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce and mango-topped casserole.

I don’t think I’ve ever celebrated Thanksgiving with Dad, or even – to my memory – shared a meal with both him and Mom, so it was really nice that he made it over tonight, bearing two different kinds of pies. His company made the evening feel more whole than other Thanksgiving dinners have, and I was so used to celebrating each year without him that I didn’t realize how much of a difference it would make.

We ate well and have a generous supply of leftovers for the weekend. I hope your evening went sweetly as well.

light struck from the lemon tree
Written by Umbrella Man

November 26, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Posted in family, people

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

