The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Puddle of the Day #914

leave a comment »

In high school, my friends would often pile together on the grass after school or during lunch, sprawled over one another in a great cuddly puddle. Usually I was a bit too shy to join in the puddle with gusto, but occasionally I would lean my head against someone if I was particularly close to them, and others would in turn lie on my legs, so I would be inextricably intwined in the web-puddle. While everyone else would banter about this and that, I would look at the sky or try to sleep, and end up watching the redness of the sun filtering through my eyelids.

The kittens curled up after their bath, and Mackenzie beside them, reminded me of that just now. People in Santa Cruz are wonderful, but they aren’t as intimate as my group of high school friends were – no cuddle puddles and no lap tag. I wonder how many people from our Koosh group in high school have made puddles of friends in college, and if any of these kittens will have cat puddles when they grow up.

I held one of the kittens after its bath, wrapped in a towel and shivered, and it was such an intensely fragile feeling.

heat blur

Written by Umbrella Man

March 24, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Posted in animals, cats, friends, people

Tagged with , ,

Leave a comment