The Transfiguration

everything is sacred

Relay of the Day #1643

leave a comment »

Relay of the Day #1643

Every night I come home from Jacob’s or Mitch and Leyla’s, I pass from a series of dark streets to this one by the high school. From a distance it’s an assortment of stars; up close these lamps burn off the night, and on this road there is no such thing as night. It feels especially odd because there are no cars here, no pedestrians to take shelter in the light; it’s an empty pocket universe that used its glow to secede from the rest of the world.

This row of lights is a sign that I’m almost home, and a good welcome back at the end of the day. I wonder if it means that to anyone else.

when I woke up without you

Written by Umbrella Man

March 23, 2013 at 3:17 am

Posted in places

Tagged with

Leave a comment